Ranking David Beckham, Thierry Henry and the 10 Best Ever MLS Designated Players

In 2007, Major League Soccer introduced the Designated Player rule to allow it's clubs to compete on the international transfer market and sign star players without having an adverse effect on the salary cap.

The rule was nicknamed the "Beckham Rule" as the English soccer superstar became the leagues first DP when he signed with the LA Galaxy.

Since Becks' arrived on the scene in 2007, a total of 27 players have held the DP title throughout 14 different franchises, with varying degrees of success.

Here we are ranking the top 10 Designated Players players based on their overall positive contributions to their respective club.

New players for the 2011 season have not been considered for the list.

Begin Slideshow


Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - MLS
Article is property of

Filed under: MLS News Leave a comment
Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

No trackbacks yet.