MLS: New York Red Bulls Roster Continues to Be a Revolving Door

In 16 seasons, the New York Red Bulls/MetroStars have had 12 different head coaches and seven different general managers or sporting directors. Close to 300 players have suited up for the team since its inception.

Year after year, there is constant turnover—coaching changes, management changes, roster overhauls. Yet the team has never found the right mix and, therefore, have never won a trophy of any kind, be it the MLS Cup, Supporter’s Shield or U.S. Open Cup.

After the 2011 season, which can only be described as a failure due to high expectations coming into the year, the housecleaning begins again.

We know that sporting director Erik Soler will return in 2012, along with head coach Hans Backe. The team has decimated its roster, however. Alex Horwath, Mike Jones, Tyler Lassiter, Marcos Paullo, John Rooney and Teddy Schneider were all waived. Carlos Mendes (the longest-tenured player on the roster and lone MetroStar remaining)...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - MLS
Article is property of

Filed under: MLS News Leave a comment
Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

No trackbacks yet.