LA Galaxy vs. Puerto Rico: A Play-By-Play (and Other Miscellany)

T-180 minutes to kickoff: So now we begin what we hope to be the first part of a long run for the Los Angeles Galaxy in the CONCACAF Champions League. This will be the very first time the Galaxy compete in this tournament under its current incarnation; the G's last took part in the CCL in 2006, when it was called the CONCACAF Champions Cup.

T-170: Let me go ahead and give you a little background on how this was drawn up. The competition's former format, called the Champions' Cup, had eight teams competing - four from the North American zone (two from Mexico, two from the United States/Canada), three from the Central American zone, and one from the Caribbean zone. 

T-160: Since 2005, the champion of the competition also gained entry into the FIFA Club World Cup, giving clubs an added incentive for a strong participation and greater interest from fans. Also the Champions' Cup Runner-up would be one of the three CONCACAF invitees to the Copa Sudamerica...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - MLS
Article is property of

Filed under: MLS News Leave a comment
Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

No trackbacks yet.