Could the Balance of Power Shift from West to East in MLS in 2016?

Major League Soccer prides itself on parity, but when the championship is determined, there is a good chance a Western Conference team will pick up the trophy. 

Since the Columbus Crew captured the MLS Cup in 2008, six of the last seven MLS Cup champions and four of the seven Supporters' Shield winners have come from the Western Conference. The only Eastern Conference team to win the MLS Cup during that span was Sporting Kansas City, who now resides in the West, in 2013. 

As the 2016 season approaches, the West is still seen as the better conference, but there could be a chance that the East takes over the throne if certain things fall into place. 

The good news for the East entering the new season, which begins March 6, is it possesses a few teams that are capable of winning the MLS Cup. 

The New York Red Bulls, who have won two Supporters' Shields in the last three years, bring back the majority of last season's Shie...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - MLS
Article is property of

Filed under: MLS News Leave a comment
Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

No trackbacks yet.