MLS: Is the East Really a ‘Weak’ Conference?

The 2015 MLS season will begin on March 6 barring a potential work stoppage, and it promises to be an exciting one, as the conferences will look a lot different this year. However, even though the East has two expansion teams, it will be extremely difficult to qualify for the playoffs this campaign compared to 2014.

MLS announced changes to its playoff format in January. Twelve teams (six from each conference) will now be able to qualify for the postseason, as opposed to the usual 10. 

If this system was used last year, teams like the Portland Timbers and the Philadelphia Union would have competed for the MLS Cup. However, the flurry of activity by almost every club is what makes this new format so intriguing.

Western teams like the Timbers, LA Galaxy, Sporting Kansas City and Houston Dynamo have bulked up their squads to prepare for what will be a hotly contested battle in the West.

In addition, plenty of team...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - MLS
Article is property of

Filed under: MLS News Leave a comment
Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

No trackbacks yet.